Local Trip Sunday 21st October

Surf, Rivers, Abroad etc. All goes in here
andy g
Expert

Local Trip Sunday 21st October

Post by andy g »

Folks
I am planning a club recreational trip on Sun 21st October.
We have 3 options:
1 A Medway estuary trip from Queenborough to the WWI U Boat wreck , this is a tidal paddle and not suitable for total beginners , 1 star plus some other experience would be a minimum. It is also not suitable for playboats, river runners would be the minimum length required, sea kayaks would be excellent, open boats in tandem welcome.

2 A River Medway trip from Tonbridge down to Yalding, running all the canoe chutes. This trip is suitable for all 1 Star holders but is quite long so some stamina is required. many of you have paddled from Sluice Gate to Yalding, this trip starts further upstream and takes in another 4 canoe chutes (which are all less steep than the Sluice Gate one), it is very rural , quite pretty with the autumnal colours, and makes a long day out.

3 A lower River Medway trip , either from Teston to Allington, or Yalding to Allington, depending upon the strength of the group. This paddle is suitable for all paddlers but again it is quite long. You paddle almost through the middle of Maidstone so it gives a different perspective to the town.

Would people like to let me know which they would prefer and Tim harlow and I will organise it.

Regards

Andy

andy g
Expert

Re: Local Trip Sunday 21st October

Post by andy g »

OK Guys
Let me narrow the choice down a bit by opting for the Teston to Allington for this Sunday. We will assemble at the Boat House at 10.00 am to collect boats and kit. Make our way down to the river at Teston.
We will then run shuttles down to Allington (the last lock on the Medway before it becomes tidal) return and paddle the river. There are no chutes on this route so it is suitable for ALL paddlers.